Home Forums UPb Geochron DRS Inconsistent 206Pb/238U and 238U/206Pb in 208(noTh) corrected U-Pb data

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Tanya Ewing 5 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

Tanya Ewing
    Participant

This is really a question about the VizualAge_UcomPbine DRS, not Iolite itself, but I’m hoping that other Iolite users may have some insight (so I hope it’s not inappropriate that I post this here).

I am new to Iolite and am processing some rutile U–Pb data with VizualAge_UcomPbine, using a 208(noTh) correction for unknowns but no common Pb correction for the standard. I have carefully gone through the various steps of data treatment in Iolite and get concordant, accurate data for my secondary standard, so I think that things are more or less working as they should. However, in the exported data, the FinalNoTh238_206 is not equal to 1/FinalNoTh206_238, which seems incorrect to me. The difference is sometimes very large: up to 30% difference, equating to tens of Ma. I noticed this because for my samples the 208-corrected ages (FinalAgeNoTh206_238) are very nice and consistent, and the common Pb corrected data also look good on a conventional concordia (which uses FinalNoTh206_238) but on a Tera-Wasserburg (using FinalNoTh238_206) they look much worse and clearly show a huge amount more scatter in 238U/206Pb in particular. This mainly affects analyses that had high common Pb, so for example my secondary standard (basically common Pb free) looks fine on a Tera-Wasserburg. Has anyone else observed this type of behaviour? Can anyone cast any light on why this is the case? It’s probably unrelated but I also noticed that in the exported data UNCORRECTED for common Pb, the Final238_206 column was blank (so for uncorrected data I calculated this value myself as 1/Final206_238). I’d be curious to know if it is normal that this column is blank.